Skip to main content.

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Website Search Box

About the Museum

Mall entrance to the National Museum of Natural History

Executive Team

Dr. Kirk Johnson's Portrait Dr. Kirk Johnson
Sant Director

Dr. Sandra Lovinguth
Associate Director for Development

Carol Butler
Assistant Director for Collections

Jim Wood
Assistant Director for Communications

Mike Lawrence
Assistant Director for Exhibitions

Dr. Wendy Wiswall
Assistant Director for Science Program Administration

Department Chairs and Directors

Dr. Torrey Rick
Department Chair, Anthropology

Dr. Laurence J. Dorr
Department Chair, Botany

Dr. Seán G. Brady
Department Chair, Entomology

Chun-Hsi Wong
Assistant Director for Facilities Operations

Michelle Mayo
Director of Human Resources

Matt McDermott
Assistant Director for Information Technology

Ellen Strong
Department Chair, Invertebrate Zoology

Lee Weigt
Director, Laboratories of Analytical Biology (LAB)

Dr. Jeffrey Post
Department Chair, Mineral Sciences

James R. Smith, Jr.
Program Manager, Museum Support Center (MSC)

Dr. Hans-Dieter Sues
Department Chair, Paleobiology

Randall Kremer
Director of Public Affairs

Dr. Valerie Paul
Director, Smithsonian Marine Station

Tina Karl
Director of Special Events

Carole Baldwin
Department Chair, Vertebrate Zoology

SI Office of Protection Services
for NMNH

Mirza Dedajic
Security Manager

SI Office of Facilities Management & Reliability for NMNH

Steve Nelson
Natural History Building Manager

Daren Kennedy
North Mall Zone Manager

Advisory Board

Chair of the Board

Ms. Paula Kerger
Washington, DC

Vice-Chair of the Board

Ms. Kathryn S. Fuller
Washington, DC

Board Members

The Honorable
Bruce Babbitt
Washington, DC

Dr. Jane Buikstra
Tempe, AZ

Dr. Cady Coleman
Shelburne Fall, MA

Dr. Scott Edwards
Concord, MA

Mark Ein
Washington, DC

Mr. John Fahey
Washington, DC

Ms. Gabriela Febres-Cordero
New York, NY

Dr. Jonathan Fink
Portland, OR

John Foster
Atherton, CA

Mr. Paul Haaga
La Cañada, CA

Dr. Tuajuanda Jordan
St. Mary’s City, MD

Mr. Gary Knell
Washington, DC

Mr. David Koch
New York, NY

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey
Philadelphia, PA

Dr. Jane Lubchenco
Washington, DC

Mr. Greg Lucier
Encinitas, CA

Ambassador William Luers
New York, NY

Ambassador Robert Mandell
Winter Park, FL

Mr. Timothy Phillips
Boston, MA

Mr. David Rubenstein
Bethesda, MD

Dr. Jeremy Sabloff
Santa Fe, NM

Mr. John Sall
Cary, NC

Mr. Roger W. Sant
Washington, DC

Ms. Sophia Shaw
Chicago, IL

Ms. Camilla Smith
San Francisco, CA

Dr. Jorge Soberón
Lawrence, KS

Mr. Marshall Turner
Belvedere, CA

Dr. Coralyn Wright Whitney
Kirkland, WA

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. David Skorton
Washington, DC

Dr. John Davis
Washington, DC

Dr. Kirk Johnson
Washington, DC

[ TOP ]

Sign up for the latest news!