Skip to main content.

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Website Search Box

Windland Smith RiceDedicated in memory of the accomplished nature photographer and conservation advocate WINDLAND SMITH RICE, the awards program is proud to build upon her legacy of engaging the public through the art of photography. Windland’s vision resonates through each and every photograph as this creative, educational, and motivational medium rekindles a passion within us all for outdoor enjoyment and the stewardship of our planet. As we congratulate the new award-winners and their remarkable achievements, we invite you to share your own images for next year. Maybe your favorite shot will make the journey from the wild to the walls of the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History. Your photographs and your stories can make a difference in how we view nature and our place in it. To learn more, visit online at

Federico Veronesi Jess Findlay Tom Mangelsen Nuno Sa Lee Slabber
Michael Rosenbaum Michael Lambie Florian Shultz Peter Lik Robin Moore
Andy Rouse Samuel Bitton Barbara Von Hoffman David Hall David Bahr

Top row, from left: Federico Veronesi, Jess Findlay, Thomas D. Mangelsen, Nuno Sá, Lee Slabber. Middle row: Michael Rosenbaum, Michael Lambie, Florian Schulz, Peter Lik, Robin Moore. Bottom row: Andy Rouse, Samuel Bitton, Barbara von Hoffmann, David Hall, David Bahr.

[ TOP ]